American Formula One Race Winners

Five American drivers have won a Formula One World Championship Grand Prix, beginning and ending with the two American World Champions, Phil Hill and Mario Andretti. Dan Gurney’s fourth and final win was the only one for an American driver in an American-made car; Richie Ginther’s win was the first for Honda as a constructor; and Peter Revson’s two wins came in the same season just over two months apart.

Driver Year Car-Engine Country Track

Phil Hill 1960 Ferrari 246 Italy Monza
  1961 Ferrari 156 Belgium Spa
      Italy Monza
Dan Gurney 1962 Porsche 804 France Rouen
  1964 Brabham BT7-Climax France Rouen
    Brabham BT7-Climax Mexico Hermanos Rodriguez
  1967 Eagle T1G-Weslake Belgium Spa
Richie Ginther 1965 Honda RA272 Mexico Hermanos Rodriguez
Mario Andretti 1971 Ferrari 312B South Africa Kyalami
  1976 Lotus 77 R1-Ford Japan Fuji
  1977 Lotus 78 R3-Ford United States Long Beach
      Spain Jarama
      France Dijon-Prenois
      Italy Monza
  1978 Lotus 78 R3-Ford Argentina Buenos Aires
    Lotus 79 R2-Ford Belgium Zolder
    Lotus 79 R3-Ford Spain Jarama
      France Ricard-Castellet
      Germany Hockenheim
    Lotus 79 R4-Ford Netherlands Zandvoort
Peter Revson 1973 McLaren M23-Ford Great Britain Silverstone
      Canada Mosport Park